Learning ballet combinations quicker.

Hello everyone,

Today I wanted to talk about something a little different in ballet and that’s if you’re a hearing or visual learner of ballet choreography. A couple of months ago I watched a video on YouTube by Kathryn Morgan who was a former soloist with New York City ballet and I love her YouTube channel so much! You can check out the video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LHrWPYHmptI

Basically in this video she explains an easy and effective way to find out if you’re a hearing or visual learner of ballet combos.

Hearing

By hearing, when your ballet teacher is giving you a combination to do, you can just listen to the words and perform that combination by not even looking at your teacher doing it.

Visual

By visual, when your ballet teacher is giving you a combination to do, you can just look at them and wouldn’t even need to listen to them speaking you can just get the combination by directly looking at them.

If you follow the link above, Kathryn has a fabulous video for you to try this at home and to see what you are! I am definitely a visual learner, and when I tried this in ballet class it really helps me memorise combinations so I really recommend giving this a try for yourself!

I really hope you enjoyed this blog post, and let me know down below if you give this a try and find out if you’re a visual or hearing learner. Have a lovely rest of the week,

Charlotte Norris Xx

8 thoughts on “Learning ballet combinations quicker.

  1. I’ve always needed a combination of visual learning and learning by doing, but I try to be mindful of all learning types with my students.

    One thing that I find that helps learning a combo (and especially translating it from right to left or front to back) is to focus not so much on “this is what my right leg is doing” and more “this is what my front leg is doing”. If you think more in relative terms, it is much easier to reverse a combo. Happy Dancing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

