5 things ballet has taught me.

Hello everyone,

I hope you are all having a lovely day! Today I wanted to share with you 5 things that ballet has taught me about myself as a person. Enjoy 🙂

1. Accept corrections

I feel like people will think they are bad or can’t do something when they get a correction. To be honest I used to feel like this, until I realised how good it is to get corrections! The photo below is a quote that I just love as it is so true! I am now always thankful and take on board corrections I am given as it will make me a better dancer.
2. Believe in myself

This is something I am still working on. I always knew I wanted to be a ballerina, but need to believe in myself more that I can do it! My family are so supportive about this and always tell me that I can achieve my dreams, I just need to believe in myself, which I do! 🙂

3. Always room for improvement

This is a must in ballet. You have days where you think to yourself oh I’m never going to be able to do that fast jump combination etc but there is always room for improvement! It just takes hard work and determination to achieve it.

4. Confidence 

I have always been a confident person, but ballet has been a massive part of that. From performing on stage from the age of 4, you developed the sense of the stage being your home and just dancing makes me feel like I can do anything and that I am the most confident person in the world!

5. How far to push myself

I feel like at times ballet can push you to your limits as I always want to be better than myself and it helps me to find how far I can push myself to achieve better than I did yesterday.

Thank you very much for reading! I really hope you enjoyed, feel free to comment below 🙂

Charlotte Norris Xx

17 thoughts on “5 things ballet has taught me.

  1. Yes, yes, yes! I agree especially with your first, third, and fifth points. If you can’t take corrections, then you can’t improve. A teacher gives you those corrections because they want you to do better. And in dance, you can ALWAYS push yourself further!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Some of the earliest important lessons I ever learned were from ballet. Of course I started ballet when I was 8 and took lessons through my adolescence. Ballet helped make me part of what I am now. Thank you for reminding me of some of these lessons.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Well said! You’re so right about all these points.

    The ability to accept correction gladly is so important. Many dancers I know are also highly successful in other areas—quite a few have gone on to second careers as academics, physicians, and attorneys, while continuing to dance—and I think the perseverence and ability to accept correction that ballet teaches us have a lot to do with that!

    …As does knowing how and when to push oneself—I kind of feel like if someone can survive tech week for a ballet performance, they can handle just about anything!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: The cramm award  – Glücksgeist

  5. This takes me back to when I spontaneously decided to do ballet when I was 16 (wow 5 years gone already ?) and only did it for a couple of years (had to focus on my studies) but in those couple of years, I was able to experience something other than sitting in a classroom trying to remember a multitude of facts! Can’t say I was any good but it was still enjoyable and gave me a bit of confidence to step outside of my comfort zone because I ended up doing a mini exam for it 😛 LP 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Mystery Blogger Award + Blogger recognition award + blue sky tag  – Glücksgeist

  7. Pingback: Jumping back in time + Liebster award  – Glücksgeist

  8. Wow, I love what ballet has given you. It seems like it’s so much more than dancing for you. You have learned so much through it. Always believe in yourself is my favorite, as we have a tendency to give up on ourselves. Great post. xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

