My arabesque improvement.

Looking back on old photos, I saw how much my first arabesque has improved over the span of 3 years. Yes that is a long time, but I’m so happy for how much better it is and want to share with you how I got it like it is today.

So the first photo is what it looked like 3 years ago. As you can see I am leaning forward as I didn’t have much strength in my back, my leg isn’t as high as my one today and my turnout isn’t as good! Below I have some things that will make your arabesque better!

1.Abs

Over 3 years, my abs have become more strong which is something that makes your arabesque so much better! The better your core strength the better you will be able to hold yourself up more.

2.  Lower back strength

As you can see, my lower back has become more upright so I’m not leaning forward anymore. A great stretch that I like doing is the superman which is when you lie down on your belly and get someone to put your arms up over your head while keeping your legs on the floor. This stretch is great for improving lower back flexibility and being able to have more of an arch within your back.

3. Higher leg

I feel like my leg is a lot more straighter and higher. Obviously your leg will gradually get higher as your back flexibility improves more but a great exercise to achieve a higher leg is to place your leg on the barre to feel what it’s like to have a higher arabesque. You also need to stretch everyday with different leg streaches to make it higher.

4. Turnout

Turnout comes from rotating your legs from the inside of your hip. A great exercise that I do every day is sitting on the floor with both legs straight in front of you. Grab the heal of your right foot, stretch your leg out straight and turn your foot in then out then repeat on the left. Do this exercise about 10 times on each side every day! 

I hope these tips will help you to achieve a better arabesque! Thank you very much for reading, have a lovely weekend.

Charlotte Norris Xx

2 thoughts on “My arabesque improvement.

Leave a Reply

