My big adventure over the other side of the world.

In summer of 2016, me,my mum,my dad and my twin brother moved over the other side of the world to Memphis Tennessee. We had been waiting to move to America for 10 years and when it actually happened it was such a shock but we’re loving it! I always love an adventure so coming all the way to Memphis from England was definitely that. We firstly stopped off in New York for 1 night and 1 day and it was amazing, we will be going back again for sure.

When I realized we were moving to Memphis, I immediately looked up dance schools as I couldn’t live without dancing. I started dancing at the age of 4, and began doing ballet and tap, then at the age of 10, I also started to do jazz and river dancing. I did all of these until the age of 16, then when I moved to Memphis I decided to focus on my love for ballet, as one day my dream is to become a professional ballerina. When I found Ballet Memphis online, I thought how I could definitely see my self going there. My first day there I was so excited, the studios were so big and have mirrors and bars which I was never fortunate to have. In England we just had a chair and did dance in a village hall, so this was a big step up! But i’m loving it, I have learnt so much already.

Within ballet, I really needed to focus on my posture as I never had a mirror growing up, I wasn’t sure if I had good or bad posture, but mine was definitely bad as i would slouch so i had a curve in my back. However, my teacher told me how having good posture is all about your abs, the stronger the abs the better the posture. I have only been there for about 3 months and my posture has improved immensely. So this is my very first blog post. I’m really hoping that whoever reads this, even if its just one person that you enjoy my first blog and this helps you in some way.

Charlotte Norris Xx

Leave a Reply

